Action Alert: START Treaty Vote

| September 15, 2010 Print

This alert has passed. The vote was a success, and we thank all those who supported this important progress. It is likely this same issue will be before the entire Senate, so stay tuned for further updates.

START TREATY VOTE this Thursday September 16 at 9:30am


“In a nuclear war there would be no victors, only victims.”
Pope Benedict XVI

Today the United States and Russia still hold about 90% of all nuclear weapons left from the Cold War. The START treaty would reduce warheads, missiles, launchers, and nuclear weapons arsenals and raise new verification requirements in both the US and Russia.

The START treaty could effectively transform the US’s image and stance on nuclear weapons technology. This treaty is not only vital to our national interest in the fight against nuclear proliferation but is essential in shifting focus towards long term global security and our moral obligation to respect the integrity of human life.

START was signed by President Obama and Russian President Dmitry Medvedev in April, however ratifying the treaty requires a 2/3rds majority vote by the Senate. Your voice needs to be heard in order to compel Senators to make the right choice on Thursday September 16.

The Senate Foreign Relations Committee will vote on the New START Treaty this Thursday September 16th at 9:30 am. Although it appears that this treaty will be voted out of committee successfully, we want to lay the ground work, in the committee vote, for the prompt ratification of the treaty.


CALL SENATORS TODAY and insist on ratification of the START treaty!

If your Senator is a member of the Foreign Relations Committee, please call TODAY and ask him/her to vote for the treaty. Below are the members’ names and their DC office phone numbers.

Connecticut – Senator Dodd (202) 224-1083
California – Senator Boxer (202) 224-3553
Delaware – Senator Kaufman (202) 224-5042
Georgia – Senator Isakson (202) 224-3643
Idaho – Senator Risch (202) 224-2752
Maryland – Senator Cardin (202) 224-4524
Massachusetts – Senator Kerry (202) 224-2742
Mississippi – Senator Roger Wicker (202) 224-6253
New Hampshire – Senator Shaheen (202) 224-2841
New Jersey – Senator Menendez (202) 224-4744
New York – Senator Gillibrand (202) 224-4451
Pennsylvania – Senator Casey (202) 224-6324

South Carolina – Senator DeMint 202-224-6121
Tennessee- Senator Bob Corker (202) 224-3344
Virginia – Senator Webb (202)-224-4024
Wisconsin – Senator Feingold (202) 224-5323
Wyoming – Senator John Barrasso (202) 224-6441
**Italics indicate highest level of importance

For more Information

Michelle Melcher Knight, MSW
Advocacy/Outreach Associate